News

On our move home, and why we have a GoFundMe campaign

Hey all! Poking my head up from work to address something about our move back to Colorado.

I wanna spell something out here: This is not a rant, nor is it directed at anyone in particular. This is an answer. Direct, honest, and painfully mathematical. The question was raised: If you have a Patreon, and you just released a new book, why are you running a GoFundMe for your move?

That’s a legitimate outsider-perspective query. So let me tackle that. First, the GoFundMe is purely to help us. Our move does not hinge upon it being successful. It is purely a “hey, this is expensive, and things are going to be tight as is, so we’d appreciate having the safety net/ ability to actually have a place to sit when we move ourselves across the country”.

Either way, we’re going home. That’s not in question. But, as stated, it’s pricey, and sometimes things happen beyond our control. That’s why we broke down and asked for help.

“But, the Patreon-” yes. I have one, and I am damned blessed that people are willing to support my work. But the Patreon brings in about $180.00 or so after fees once a month. To put that into perspective, that’s one electricity bill, a week and change of groceries, and a tiny bit left over for things like “Hey, I feel like treating myself to a soda.”

Admittedly, I’m not a big fan of soda. But you get the idea.

Patreon funds are exhausted by real life almost as soon as they come in. Which, incidentally, is precisely what they are meant for. Patrons help me keep things running while I churn out work. Simple.

“But the new Book-” Yes. I have a new book out. I’m friggin’ stoked that anyone has picked it up at all! But here’s the harsh reality of what I’ve made so far on the newest novel:

Print profit: $89.00 before taxes and fees.

Digital profit: $18.00 before taxes and fees.

Total before fees: $107.00

When I can expect to actually see this money: End of June at the earliest.

That’s just the nature of the self-publishing beast. Months of work that translates into very very little money at first, with only the hope that it will turn a profit after readers tell others about it, if they decide to rate it, or if they choose to review it at all. It’s not a sob story, it’s just how the machine hums along. I knew this going into it. No worries.

But it illustrates that, no, a new novel doesn’t mean I’m flush with funds. No author without an advance from a publisher ever is, and rarely then.

Now, one has to remember that through all of this, the necessities don’t stop existing. Bills. Rent. Food. Pet care. I think you can see where I’m going with this, so I’ll spare you the brute-force economics. Can we survive? Of course we can. We already do. Can we make this move on our own? Yup. Basic math says that checks out. Will it be risky and that much more difficult without help? Basic math also agrees there, and is seconded by Murphy’s Law.

So, that’s why we asked for help. If you can, awesome! If not, no worries! We understand that all too well. But if you’re questioning, I can only hope that this all clears it up for ya. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

