News

New Novel Complete, and MORE

First off, happy Friday. I think we’ve earned that, yeah? Yeah.

I have to apologize for the lack of updates here on the blog. The past two weeks have been kind of a harrowing trifecta. My grandfather-in-law passed away last week, his memorial was this week, and in the midst of all of that I was throwing myself at work on the new novel to help deal, essentially.

We all have our own way to grieve. Mine’s being there for my wife, and burying myself in fiction-creation otherwise.

But, the positive outcome is that after 107,000+ words, “When the Man Comes Around”, book one of the Nine Shot Sonata series, is complete. That is, the first pass before final polish and formatting is complete. You may feel free to sound the celebratory noise maker of your choosing.

I’ll be tucking in to the editing process over the next week or so, and finessing. Thankfully, since I do a lot of that during the writing process anyway—and the Beta readers from The Clockwork Haus help tremendously—the polishing phase should go quickly. Then it’s on to formatting, cover design, and getting it in shape for print.

That also means that the release date for the hardcover of May 17th is still a solid one. I’ll have announcements about that, and maybe a contest, as the release date approaches. Stay tuned. The EBook version of the new novel will also be available within around a week or so of the hardcover’s release!

After that, we enter a weird holding pattern while we wait to move back to Colorado. I’ll be taking my traditional week off once the book is live, but keeping the notebook nearby for idea-slinging. I never stop working, really. I just throttle down.

In that space of time after the break, I’ll be getting to work on the next book release, which is a collection of short stories I am calling “Harrington’s Home for Wayward Lore”. I’ll also be hard at work on the game/story bible for the Pips RPG. This’ll pretty much be my life for the next six months.

My day-planner is well and truly full.

I’ve got more writer advice articles in the queue to share with you all as well, though those will be a touch sparse in the immediate. As always, if you’d like to support the extra content and get some fun stuff in return, consider becoming a supporter of my Patreon.

That’s all from me for now. Time to get back to the grindstone.

Until next time, Horns Up.

Leave a Reply

