Humor · Personal · rant

No, really: It’s okay not to like something, too.

ghostbusters.jpg

“Let people enjoy what they enjoy.”

That’s something I believe in, sincerely. It’s born off of the knee-jerk reaction some folks have when another person espouses affection for some media that the first person hated. Suddenly, it becomes a primal need to convert the person that liked it into a fellow hater. We’ve all seen it, and I’m fairly certain a great many of us have experienced it. I applaud any meme that points out the discrepancy, and charged those guilty of the act to embrace the Tao of Wheaton: “Don’t be a Dick.”

But stop and think about the reverse of that, just for a moment.

Done thinking? Great! Because I have a simple example here:

“I don’t like black licorice. At all.”

Simple enough phrase, yes? When I say that among friends who do like black licorice, there’s a bit of back and forth, we laugh, and we each go on our merry way. No invective, no ad hominem, and certainly no misconstruing intent. I don’t like black licorice. You do. That’s cool. See you next game session.

But, let’s say I decide instead to invoke the phrase, “I’m not going to go see the new Ghostbusters movie. I don’t like what I’m seeing.”

Well, then it’s full goddamn stop, and the recrimination floodgates open. Why? The leap to judgment based on an unfortunate ugly reality.

Let’s be clear here: I fully believe we still have a toxic and virulent culture online from trolls to oxygen-thief idiots who truly wish to burn this movie at the stake for the crime of an all-female cast.

I’m not one of them.

There’s a grasping collection of petulant and mewling giant toddlers who are raising the flags above their crumbling bastions called “childhood” and crying havoc against a film that they perceive to be the single most greatest threat to their sovereign Ecto-Cooler drenched memories.

I’m not one of them.

And, yes, there are the well meaning data-miners who have long survived the tumultuous journey that lead to this film; noble geeks who ferreted through every article and trade blurb that arose any time Dan Akroyd so much as tweeted a collection of letters that could remotely be rearranged to spell out “Ghostbusters 3”. These fine folks will tell you who from the original cast supports it. Who doesn’t. Who doesn’t have an opinion.

I’m not one of them.

But that doesn’t matter. I could tell you how on board I was with the concept the day I heard about it. I could point to any number of posts where I squealed in delight when that above image was released. I could pass along the memes recounting how this movie was for a new generation who also could stand to learn that, yes, Bustin’ can make one feel sublime. But it’s moot in the same vein as someone who doth protest too much.

Why? Because it’s okay to like something. We’re not quite to the point where it’s okay to not like something, even from a reasonable standpoint. We’ve ruined it for each other with a creeping miasma both of idiots being intolerant, and the rush to paint dissension with the same brush to root out that intolerance. Each side will, somehow, claim you as their own, or as their villain.

But again, I’m not one of them.

What I am is a guy who was hyped, and then I watched the trailers, and that train thoroughly derailed for me.

No. One can not fairly judge a movie based on a trailer. Ever. What one can fairly do, particularly if one’s versed in marketing, is denote tone, direction, and the intended hook of a film. That’s the whole point of the art of the trailer. They have the realm that exists within a minute to hook a piece of your grey matter to hopefully reel you in to a theater seat. I’m certainly not complaining, because it’s also a part of the whole experience that I love.

So, yes, the argument of being unable to fairly gauge a film based solely on a trailer is absolutely correct. But that’s the gag: they’re not showing me a movie. They are trying to sell me a ticket. In this, regrettably, they have failed. And that’s okay too. They won’t be hurt or hampered by my lack of participation. They have their audience.

I’m not one of them.

And here’s what this all boils down to: hopefully, what you’ve read here is measured. Hopefully, it’s even handed, and comes off as level sincerity. Because the fact of the matter is that I was scared to post it, given the climate. Hell, I’m still scared of what the reaction will be, and isn’t that just fucking insane?

I think so. But then again, I also think that remakes can exist, properties based on other things can exist, and re-imaginings can exist- just show me the love you’re putting into it, make me engaged with your fresh take, give me something that sets the hook and you will have your catch of the day.

But I’m sorry, new Ghostbusters.

I’m not one of them.

And, really, that should be okay.

 

 

One thought on “No, really: It’s okay not to like something, too.

Leave a Reply

